Moving to East 72nd Street next month! What's the area like in your opinion?

Posted by Leah25 
Moving to East 72nd Street next month! What's the area like in your opinion?
December 20, 2011 03:48AM
Hi everyone, I'm a college student from out of state returning to NYC next month. I've lived in NYC for 2 years from 2007-2009 on West 88th Street at Riverside Dr. I've arranged to live in an apartment on East 72nd street at 2nd Ave. Can anyone tell me their honest opinion of the area (no sugar coating please)? I've been doing some Googling and while I've found businesses around that area I have not found any opinions of the neighborhood yet.

I've only been around 72nd at Broadway as well where 72nd goes onto Riverside Drive. Give any info that is not in guide books and websites such as the affordable grocery stores, best green spaces, if there are significant noise issues (West 88th wasn’t too bad with the noise), are there issues with standing water that pools up a lot next to the curbs when it rains or snows (an issue on West 88th-W.86th Streets), is there dog droppings and urine littering and stinking up the sidewalks (an HUGE issue on West 88th Street, when I lived there! But it was not an issue elsewhere in the city), any crime, trash or polluted air to be concerned about on E. 72nd (I know each street in NYC tends to have its own little unique issues and surprises).

Thanks in advance for your help! Happy holidays
Re: Moving to East 72nd Street next month! What's the area like in your opinion?
December 20, 2011 09:35AM
Welcome to the hood! The UES has a lot of luxury apartments and townhouses, but also probably the largest stock of walk-up tenements, so wealthy families and young professionals live in the area. Second Ave. is the hub of nightlife, with lots of pubs, concentrated a bit north of where you are, in the 80s-90s.