A Writer In Need of Help!

Posted by Crimsyn 
Crimsyn
A Writer In Need of Help!
May 30, 2010 10:40PM
Hello Everyone!

As I said in the subject line, I am a writer who needs help!
I am from Kirkland, Washington which a suburb of Seattle and have never been to NYC. Anyways, I am writing a a contemporary fantasy book where the male protagonist is a 21 year old new yorker who moves to Seattle for a couple of reasons, long story. I didn't want to make him stereotypical so I've been trying to do some research to make his personality more authentic among other things and then I stumbled onto this website so I have decided to post and hopefully get some opinions because hey, who would be better to ask other than a new yorker or more?

I have many questions, like what personality traits are indicative of a new yorker? Because I have read in other threads, just because he's a new yorker he shouldn't be rude just because that's just the stereotype. Are there certain mannerisms he should have? Like since I've heard everybody walks in NYC would he walk so "fast" that other characters would have a hard time keeping up with him? Also what part of NYC should he hail from? I was automatically going to have him come from Manhattan, but I read in another thread that Manhattan is the "Disney" part of NYC and I imagine him more down to earth than that, so maybe he should be from Brooklyn or Queens... By the way, he's white and his last name (Fraser) is of Irish descent so hopefully that helps since NYC is so diverse!

So how can I make my character more authentic? Any comments and/or opinions is greatly appreciated!

Thanks for your time!
-Crimsyn
Re: A Writer In Need of Help!
June 01, 2010 08:11AM