Female Safety

Posted by sueod 
Female Safety
March 19, 2007 01:05PM
Hi All,
This is my first time on this site, so please be gentle with me. After saving like crazy for what seems like ages, I'm finally visiting New York 22-28th March. Staying in Secacus (couldn't really afford NY hotels). My question: I'll be on my own, I'm not the youngest of people (but can still run quite fast), but love shopping. Is it safe to ride the train back from Penn Street to Secacus around 9 p.m in the evening? I can't quite work out if Secacus is in the commuter belt, so have no idea if there will be other people around at this time in the evening. Also, I plan to visit the upper west side of Central Park, is this a safe area during the daytime? Can anyone put my mind at rest! I'm starting to get a bit nervous - it's a long time since I travelled on my own and have never been long haul! Thanks to anyone kind enough to take some time to reply.
Red
Re: Female Safety
March 19, 2007 01:08PM
Where are you staying?

Are you aware the Secaucus Transfer station has NO pedestrian access?

Do you know how you will get to your hotel?

The trains are safe, Central Park is safe, etc. But many Secaucus hotels are, say, a motel on the side of a busy highway with no sidewalk. THAT is not safe.
March 19, 2007 04:41PM
You didn't say which hotel, but it is more convenient to take the NJ Transit #320 bus from Port Authority Bus Terminal to Secaucus rather than the train from Penn Station.

You'll be fine at 9pm. You'll be very surprised at how many people are about. This bus actually goes first to a Park and Ride before continuing on to the shopping center where the hotels are.

People have written that there are taxis waiting at the Secaucus Junction train station, but I cannot personally confirm it.

+
+
+
+
stay in NJ to visit NYC --> [www.broadwayfocus.com]
March 19, 2007 04:44PM
Hey Red,