Cost of living in NYC?

Posted by Wolfster2 
Re: Cost of living in NYC?
June 01, 2005 06:05PM
NYCchic,

Wow I'm impressed by the amount you spend on food each month I don't even live in NYC right now and I spend probably twice that. Out of curiousity, how are you keeping that cost so low? Are there things you are going without?(ie., when I was a college student, I spend 20 bucks a week on food - but went without meat and most items). Just curious.

I'm worried about the increased cost of living when I move out there. I would be ecstatic if I can drop the cost of food in half without compromosing health.
June 08, 2005 01:34PM
hey,how did you survive $20/wk on food? that would be impossible for me! me and my friend are trying to work out a future budget because we will be moving to new york once we save enough money and go to college, maybe get a few degrees. i want to study crime, psychology, and early childhood development. she wants to be a vet. i would be interested to find out how so many new yorkers keep their costs so low.....i want to live comfortably but cheap in nyc, so does my friend. bye for now!
June 08, 2005 02:35PM
The art of cooking is probably how. Real food is less than processed food,and if you plan your meals they cost less. Though there are a million ways to cook Top Ramen, and if you are lucky you know how to make rice and beans just as many ways. Not to mention eggs what you can do with 12 eggs.