beach

Posted by Kathy 
Kathy
beach
June 10, 2005 06:38AM
Hi all,

Since I am new in New York, I would like to know where Newyorkers go for beach. I am looking for something not too crowded, accessible by public transport and within a reasonable distance from Manhattan for a day trip, but I know that sometimes I need to choose two from three smiling smiley

Thanks in advance.
Kathy
Red
Re: beach
June 10, 2005 07:06AM
Lots of good options.

Within the city, I go a few times each summer to walk on the beach at Rockaway. From Beach 116th Street all the way up to Beach 165th Street there's a long stretch of broad sand, and it's even on the subway.

I also really like Fire Island. It's a very long barrier island off Long Island with a bunch of beach communities on it. LIRR sells day trips - you take a train to a ferry, it's about 2 hours each way from the city.

Some of my friends go to the Jersey Shore, too - places like Manasquan and Bay Head. More of a party atmosphere there.
Kathy
June 10, 2005 05:35PM
Thanks Red. How does Rockaway compare with Coney Island? Less crowded? And how is Brighton Beach? (apart from the Russian stores, cafes etc)
Red
June 10, 2005 07:02PM
Rockaway is much more peaceful, and the beach is broader. Coney Island is about the entertainment - the boardwalk, the rides, the guy walking around carrying a giant snake. The beach at Coney Island is also intensely crowded on summer weekends. And I'm still suspicious of the water there, can't say why. Ditto for Brighton Beach; they're the same stretch of sand, just at opposite ends. Rockaway is much more for people who really want sand and surf rather than a party.
Kathy
June 10, 2005 08:23PM
Thanks again!
George
June 11, 2005 01:33PM
Montauk the water is gorgpus. Ditch Plains beach! Great surfing too. About a 3 hour train ride. But then need to take a taxi to the beach. Short ride but not as easy as the other postings.
June 12, 2005 07:10AM