best place for a family to live in NYC?

Posted by Sophie 
Hi! I've been having this irresistible urge to move to NYC, I want to start researching for the best place for a family with two small children to live, my husband is a science teacher(secondary education) and I am a graphic designer...any suggestions?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/25/2010 12:36PM by (n/a).
If your children can share a room and you're into that artsy, homey vibe, I would recommend finding a cozy, lovely 2-bedroom in the West Village. It's not the area for high-rise doorman luxury apartment buildings, but it is the area for low-rise townhouses, small boutiques, cobblestone streets, and the best restaurants in the city.

If you want to go in the other direction and are into finding more space and a luxury building, I'd recommend the Upper East Side. It's family oriented, with tree-lined streets, and has all of the stores you could possibly need. It has more mass appeal, as the buildings are all high rises and there's a drug store on every corner, whereas the village is more charming with family-owned businesses and the like.

If you're sending your children to private school, the Upper East Side will likely be closer to wherever you want to send them. If you want to rent a 3-bedroom in the Upper East Side that's relatively close to the subway, you can expect to pay between $4,000 to $6,000 per month. Dial that down by a grand if you're only looking for a 2-bed (of course you could wind up paying much more than that if you so choose). If you want a more unique place in the village, you will probably spend a bit less, but get much less space. You're really paying for the neighborhood.