What's the most liveable borough?

Posted by Dan 
Dan
What's the most liveable borough?
October 07, 2003 09:57AM
Manhattan or Brooklyn? Do the other boroughs even count? As I type NPR is negotiating a debate on this subject.
Red
Re: What's the most liveable borough?
October 07, 2003 10:44AM
Well, as an Astoria resident, I'm deeply offended.

Sure, I'd live in Brooklyn Heights if I could afford it. But that's the whole point: affordability is a very key component of livability. And comfortable, friendly, convenient interesting parts of Brooklyn and Manhattan are no longer affordable.

On the other hand, here in Astoria I've got a spacious apartment in a safe, friendly neighborhood a few blocks from a convenient subway station, in a neighborhood vibrating and humming with the kind of multicultural energy I remember from my youth, an energy that's largely evaporated from Manhattan because of those insane prices.

I'm a little younger than Jonathan Lethem, but I still remember a Manhattan that wasn't whitewashed - that wasn't all rich, wealthy, well-fed white faces from Paris and Nebraska, where we had diversity and industry and dreams instead of those ugly luxury condos marching up Sixth Avenue in the 20s. That's what I find in Astoria, Sunnyside, Woodside, even Corona. I find, not crime, but people from around the world coming together as Americans, actually able to afford apartments or even (gasp) houses, realizing their dreams, melting their flavors into the pot.

If I had to choose between Manhattan and Brooklyn, I'd choose Brooklyn by far. I'd choose it for the brownstones in Brooklyn Heights and the hasids in Borough Park, for the Chinese along Avenue U and even the ghettos of Brownsville. I'd choose Brooklyn because there are still dreams being dreamed there, and because the houses are very, very pretty.

I wish I could choose Manhattan. I grew up there. But there's no middle class there any more.